they know my name ’cause I told it to them

I gave The Neon Bible another try (the Arcade Fire album, not the posthumous John Kennedy Toole novel) – and it’s not as bad as I first thought! I don’t know if I’d feel a pressing need to see them live if I’d already seen Interpol play within the last 12 months, but I can stand their music better now. I even found myself rocking out, just a little, on the drive in this morning.

Similar feelings about Dismemberment Plan (I owe Jason for bringing these both to my attention, though Elizabeth N. turned me on to D-Plan way, way back in high school). Don’t expect me to revisit Kanye, though.

I fed Pandora a smorgasboard of entries yesterday – I held the cutting board up to its gaping maw and scraped Atmosphere, Interpol, controller.controller, Massive Attack, Chemical Brothers and Otis Redding into it. It spit out a couple interesting recos: Arctic Monkeys, Blue Scholars and The Editors, among others. New fodder, new fodder!

I watched a repeat of America’s Best Dance Crew in the break room at work over lunch on Tuesday. I have the following observations, possibly heretical:


  • Sure, Breaksk8, the roller-skating dance crew, is talented, but doesn’t half the novelty lie in the fact that they’re not falling down? It’s like wearing ten pound wristbands while you pop ‘n lock. Lil’ Mama would say, “Your moves weren’t the freshest, but DAMN – how’d you do that with those weights on?” If they were doing the same caliber of moves without skates they wouldn’t have even made the cut. And you don’t get extra points for handicapping yourself … on the street.

  • The repeat we saw had a Michael Jackson theme to it, in honor of the 25th anniversary of Thriller (and god damn, that album stands the test of time). One group actually drew “Thriller” as their song to dance to. “Isn’t that cheating?” I asked. “Can’t they just do the Thriller dance? And then J.C. Chasez will say, ‘You guys did the dance from “Thriller.” You win.'” Because that shit is hard. I speak from experience here.

  • Status Quo – represent!

17 Responses

  1. Thriller absolutely does stand the test of time. I downloaded the 25th anniversary edition, and I was taken right back to sixth grade. Hot damn.

    And…the whole Thriller video is part of the package. That alone is worth the $20 spent on the album.

  2. Editors: I enjoyed “The Back Room,” really dug “An End Has a Start” and fell into musical love when they played at the Orpheum back in January. They know how to make great music and they take it to the next level when they present it to an audience.

    ABDC: Kaba Modern (“Thriller”) is great, but it’s all about JabbaWockeeZ (“P.Y.T.”).

  3. Vlvt – BEAT IT! BEAT IT! No one wants to BE DEFEATED!

    Vickie – I’m not digging the masks. Sorry. Just doesn’t do it for me.

  4. you watch out, Professor, because that’s coming out at karaoke one of these weeks.

  5. The Pandora station I usually listen to is seeded with Fleetwood Mac, The Cure, The Motels, and Elvis Costello. Even though I don’t particularly care for Elvis Costello, this combination seems to produce the most agreeable mix of music for me.

  6. To each their own. I do agree with you about BreakSk8, though.

  7. Vlvt – You don’t want to be starting something (unless you’ve GOT to be starting something).

    C – Does it specify anywhere on your station setting what common thread it’s pulling from those?

  8. I swear I emailed you Editors mp3s.

  9. Apparently I don’t click on every link you send me (even when I ought to, like in this case).

  10. Glad to know I’ve had an impact. šŸ™‚

  11. Dismemberment Plan is AMAZING. I’ve been listening to them for years. “You Are Invited” is kind of an amazing song.

    Also, it doesn’t really have anything to do with either of those types of artists, but you should check out Jeffrey Lewis.

  12. Status Quo should lace up and get on the ice for the Bruins. I want winners in all four major sports.

  13. Dig the Vincent Price cameo on Thriller. Was there really a time Michael Jackson didn’t take himself so damn seriously?

  14. Brian – thank you for the reco anyway!

    Matt – I submit that the Marlon Brando cameo in “You Rock My World” demonstrates that MJ didn’t take his art seriously, even late in life.

  15. Jason – your Indie Rock footprint is pretty wide. You may need to buy some Street Cred offsets this year.

  16. I’m decidedly interesting in seeing the non-profit that offers Street Cred offsets. I imagine it run by a bunch of tie-dyed Deadheads. Those guys have *no* street cred.

  17. Street Cred offsets are provided by a 401(c)(3) foundation jointly run by National Review, the Bilderberg Group and the Insane Clown Posse.

Leave a Reply

