it’s coming; keep the car running

So, a little over a month into the move from LiveJournal, how’m I doin’?

#: Between February 29th and April 2nd, I had 2748 views – an average of 83 per day. That average varies pretty wildly, though – linking to a post by The Ferrett about Barack Obama’s speech brought a lot of eyeballs; talking about Patrick Swayze’s pancreatic cancer, not so much. I didn’t move to WordPress strictly to increase my page hits – for more on that, see my new blog, Eliot Spitzer Sex Prostitute Barack Obama Steroids Final Four American Idol. But having the numbers now makes me curious.

#: I love the ability to write a post, set it to publish while I’m away, and then forget about it. Love it, love it, love it.

#: I miss threading comments and auto-reply comments. If I find a solution I’ll let you know.

#: I’ve also hit up Akismet for answers for those of you who keep getting quashed as spam. My apologies for that – not sure why Akismet’s much-vaunted ability to “learn” isn’t coming in to play here. I’ve sent them some fairly detailed e-mails; we’ll see if that makes a difference.

#: At some point I will probably stop duplicating posts to LiveJournal (and will watch my audience plummet as a result). LJ readers can prepare for that day by subscribing to my RSS feed (thank you, Lindsay Jean). Every now and then I’ll write a post on here that I don’t mirror, like my deconstruction of Rick Astley’s “Never Gonna Give You Up”. This is largely due to laziness.

#: Every day I’m grateful to Tom for inspiring the name of this weblog.

10 Responses

  1. At the point you decide to stop entirely your cross-posting to LJ, please make a last LJ post with a link to the RSS feed. In the meantime, I’d rather not get double-posts, and I’m okay with not getting every post.

  2. Wooo! I’m popular! =)

  3. But I might say something insightful about Heidi Montag! Or American Idol! And you’d never know!

  4. Does this mean a get a cut of your eventual multimedia empire?

  5. LJ – definitely!

    Tom – Oh, sure, as soon as this site becomes profitable.

  6. I am still hoping you’ll give up on this.

  7. Too bad for you, SUCKA!

  8. I’ve recently installed the Subscribe to Comments plugin on my WordPress blog. It allows you to check a box that says, “Email me all future comments on this post.” So that solves part of the LJ-comments-are-better problem. I still haven’t found a good threaded comment plugin, though. (Brian’s Threaded Comments is the one “everyone” uses, apparently, but I couldn’t get it to work with my theme, or something.)

  9. Damn your reverse psychology.

  10. I use the ljxp plugin to (selectively) post to LJ and my site without extra effort.

Leave a Reply

