me and julio down by the schoolyard

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m living alone for the first time since college as of the start of June. Many of you feared that I couldn’t tolerate coming home to an empty home, or living without a friend to make noise and keep me company.

It turns out you were right.

Folks, let me introduce you to Master Wong.
master wong

Master Wong is a refurbished iRobot Roomba Scheduler. He arrived about a week before I left the old apartment and eagerly followed me to the Fortress of Solitude. Twice a week – Tuesdays and Fridays – he vacuums the entire apartment, one square inch at a time.

I have to clean Wong about once a week: brushing out his filter, emptying out his bin, clearing his brushes with a pair of scissors. The process soothes me: it’s a meticulous ritual with an obvious payoff.

Sometimes Wong gets confused and I find him sleeping in the middle of the floor when I come home. Then I pick him up and get him back to his dish so he can recharge.

master wong

If you want to invite a Roomba into your home, I strongly urge you to patronize a no-kill shelter like RoombaExchange. You can get a refurbished and guaranteed Roomba Scheduler 4230 – like Wong – for more than 20% off a new model. The unit does not have a huge amount of vacuuming power, I must admit. But really, a half-assed job of vacuuming twice a week beats the thorough job of vacuuming I’d do once every two weeks (presuming I remembered).

Plus, now I have a helpful robot in the home.

7 Responses

  1. CYLON SYMPATHIZER

  2. It loves me MORE THAN YOU DO.

  3. Just because I didn’t vacuum that much doesn’t mean you need to get personal 😦

  4. I got to see Master Wong in action. He made an adorable meeping sound! He cleaned around your shoes! Then he spun in a circle after you told him to dock! Then finally, after a little confusion, he found his home!

    We got our cat from a shelter, it seems only fitting to give an unwanted Roomba a home too.

  5. I’d never actually watched him dock before – he always does his work while I’m out of the house.

  6. You have an adorable pet! Yay!

  7. He sings a song when you tell him to do a thing.

Leave a Reply

