1, 2, 3, 4 monsters walking ‘cross the floor

No matter what sort of day you’re having, this will pick you up: Entertainment Weekly’s 25 Classic Sesame Street Visits:

Crazy


Awesome
Crazy AwesomeJust Plain Disturbing

In other news, I think someone tried to scam me yesterday.

I got a call on my cell at work from a Comcast representative, claiming that I owed them $268. “If you’d like to pay that down now,” he said, “we’d be happy to take your credit card information or a check number by phone.”

I thought for a moment. While I have gone in debt to Comquack in the past – many times – it always works out this way:

  • Comcast sends me a notice in the mail that I owe them X hundred dollars in three days or they’re shutting off my service
  • Three days later, Comcast shuts off my service
I’d never received a phone call from a collections agent before. Frankly, I didn’t see the point: they could “repo” my cable at any time by simply stopping the signal.

Maybe they thought I was still the account holder at my old address, and my roommate had forgot to pay the bill. That could be it.

“I just sent the check yesterday,” I told the guy. Which was true – a check for a fraction of this so-called $268, but that’s not important.

“Oh, excellent,” the guy said. “I’ll just put a note in your file here that a check has been sent.”

Later that evening, in front of my computer and my files, I called Comcast’s customer service to check on my balance. “We show a balance of $61,” the helpful lady said.

“And do you show any other accounts of mine open?”

“No, sir.”

“Hmm. Thank you.”

I’m a naturally suspicious sort, as a rule. When I won the Ayn Rand Institute’s essay contest on The Fountainhead, I got a call a few days later from ARI congratulating me. Since they were sending me a check in excess of $600, they needed my Social Security Number for tax purposes. I told whoever it was and then hung up, worrying that I might just have given out personal info to a scammer. I did the sensible thing, of course: not tell anyone anything about it until my parents got my high school’s monthly newsletter, saw a little blurb about their son winning $10,000, and came to the public library where I worked with a bemused look of shock on their faces. “Did you …?” the conversation began.

So I hope that, even if I did owe Comquack $200 or more, I’d have the presence of mind not to give credit card info to a stranger who called me first. I hope.

One Response

  1. I can’t imagine that anyone would expect you to give credit card information over a cell phone, anyway. That’s not particularly safe, no matter who is asking for it.

    If anyone asks me for personal information, I get their number and call them back on a secure line. This insures that they are who they claim to be, and that nobody is listening in on a cell phone conversation.

Leave a Reply

