I said he ain’t here, but he sure went past

So, more than three months into the Davis Square experiment, how do I like living alone? I love it.

I love living close enough to the train that I can take the T to work three days a week. And it gets me around on weekends, too. I love living within walking distance of most of my friends. I love a bathroom, kitchen and living area that stay just as clean as I want them to. I love all the bars and restaurants that lie stumbling distance from my front doorstep.

More than anything else, though, I love the absolute sense of privacy. I’m an introvert and I always will be. When I’m done with work or my other obligations, I need a quiet corner where I can shut everyone else out. I like the world I live in, but I need to keep it at arm’s length.

The only things I need to overcome now: my tendency to hoard things I don’t need. My shelves overflow with books I’ve read once; my storage locker in the basement contains an air-conditioner my apartment doesn’t need and several leftover cardboard boxes. I need to be talked or tricked into getting rid of things. With that out of my way, I’ll be in good shape.

One Response

  1. that whole third paragraph?

    word.

Leave a Reply

