and now it’s time for the breakdown

My body’s starting to disintegrate around me.

Last week I caught my third cold in three months. This from a guy who used to go years between colds. This one has no sinus presence – just a steady, unproductive hacking from deep in the back of my throat. Last night the muscles of my neck actually hurt from coughing so much.

(To save you a lot of time: I take a multi-vitamin every day, I exercise five days a week for no more than an hour each time, I wash my hands thoroughly every time I go to the bathroom, I get at least 6 hours of sleep every night and usually more, etc)

Soreness takes longer to heal than it once did. Scrapes turn into scars rather than scabbing over and vanishing. My neck cracks, my back aches and my joints pop. I’m officially starting to get old.

# # #

I went bowling on Sunday for the first time in years, hitting up Lanes & Games in North Cambridge. They have a remarkably nice bar considering that they’re a bowling alley on Route 2. Kristina C., Madeline, Matt and Chris came too, though Chris only watched. I bowled two sub-100 matches.

On Monday the tendon running the length of my forearm ached all day (see above).

2 Responses

  1. Yeah, 25 is pretty much the high point for a body.

  2. just be glad you don’t have an immune disease on top of all that. i started falling apart ten years ago.

Leave a Reply

