I know how hard you try; I see it in your eyes

I saw this on my man Eric‘s site yesterday. Then the Queen of Awkward forwarded it to me as well and asked that I talk about it. So I will.

But what is it? It’s a selection of profile quotes from The Atlasphere, the world’s largest dating site devoted primarily to Ayn Rand fans:

dpvabc, Edmonton, Canada
My name is Daniel. I consider myself to be a born-again egoist and I have dedicated the rest of my life to self-improvement. People see me as a socially inept loner because I tend to avoid superficial conversation but actually I love talking to people who like to think (the problem being I don’t know very many).

mxjohnxm, Greenville, South Carolina
“One can’t love man without hating most of the creatures who pretend to bear his name.”

Zak, Long Island, New York
I am rational, integrated, and efficacious. So far, I’ve never met a person who lives up to the standard I hold for myself (except online).

I take my relationships seriously. I am simply not attracted to many of the women in this world. I do not “hook-up” with girls. I only kiss those who deserve, and so far I have only encountered one who did. I would love to find someone I can learn something from; someone who challenges me to think; someone I can feel like I’ve won, rather than lowered myself to.

lostpainting, Hagerstown, Maryland
Please note: If you’re overweight, I won’t date you. If you believe in God, I won’t date you. If you vote for Democrats, I won’t date you.

(I love that final one; you wonder if lostpainting considers being overweight the same kind of moral failing as believing in God or voting Democrat. Svelte atheist Republicans have been advancing the torch of Reason through these Dark Ages; no one else)

Anyhow, my thoughts:

  • As far as needy statements buffed to a sheen of confidence go, they’re no worse than anything you’d find on Craigslist. Seriously. And some of the ones I didn’t copy over are downright touching (“want to meet a serious woman who both challenges me intellectually and inspires me to noble things by her beauty”), if not likely to get anywhere. So, Rand fans are human too.
  • I’ve dated all over the ideological spectrum, and I can think of only one relationship that lasted longer than 4 weeks where we shared a knowledge and familiarity with Rand’s writing and philosophy. Some of my more successful relationships came with ideological opposites. Hell, sometimes we don’t even talk politics at all. It’s a bit of a downer. I think that a shared political philosophy helps to strengthen a relationship, but sucks when selecting for a relationship. Dating sites tend to put photos higher on the page than manifestos, in case you hadn’t noticed.
  • If the Atlasphere hasn’t changed much from when it first debuted – ’03, was it? ’04? – then the male:female ratio still hovers over 20:1. Guys, I hate to sound crude, but now’s not the time to be picky.

Anyhow, best of luck to everyone on the Atlasphere. May you all find your Kira / Dominique / Dagny / Rand-substitute someday.

Leave a Reply

