hammer of the gods

In the worship of security we fling our lives beneath the wheels of routine – and before we know it our lives are gone. What does a man need – really need? A few pounds of food each day, heat and shelter, six feet to lie down in – and some form of working activity that will yield a sense of accomplishment. That’s all – in the material sense, and we know it.

But we are brainwashed by our economic system until we end up in a tomb beneath a pyramid of time payments, mortgages, preposterous gadgetry, playthings that divert our attention for the sheer idiocy of the charade. The years thunder by, the dreams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience. Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Sterling Hayden, Wanderer

On March 13th I’m flying abroad, by myself, for the first time in my life.

You should really get someone to travel with you. Well, I can’t. And that’s not going to stop me.

They speak a different language over there, you know. So? It’s Northern Europe; I’m bound to find an English speaker somewhere. If not, it’ll be an exercise in non-verbal cues.

You could lose your wallet, or your passport, or get stabbed or drugged or kidnapped. I’m a white guy with good hair who speaks English. The entire Western Hemisphere is practically conspiring to make sure nothing bad happens to me.

You could end up cold, miserable and bored. I’m only going for a weekend. Worst case scenario, I’m out three days and a couple hundred bucks.

You … All right, enough of this.

Even if the fears I have about traveling abroad weren’t trivial, I shouldn’t be letting fear make decisions for me anyway. I’m young, single, employed and out of debt. There’s no better time in my life – other than years ago – to explore. Time to get it over with and start testing myself on that jagged edge.

March 13th through 16th. See you in Reykjavik.

Leave a Reply

