they all play on penny whistles; you can hear them blow

Since my iPod has gone on the fritz, MTV.com has become my preferred source for listening to 80s and 90s music online. The RIAA has cracked down on YouTube, and the sound quality tends to be a little better. I just roll up a playlist of favorites, minimize the browser (since I’d rather hear Lindsay Buckingham sing “Big Love” than watch him), and crank through a spreadsheet.

Yesterday I saw MTV promoting the latest My Chemical Romance video, “Desolation Row.” Hmm. Well, all right. I liked “Famous Last Words.” Let’s give it a listen.

My thoughts, in rough chronological order:


  • As far as screamo covers of Bob Dylan songs go, it’s not bad. I can tap my toes to it.

  • You know, it’s funny. This song first entered my consciousness as the title heading of Chapter 1 of Watchmen. “At midnight, all the agents …” etc.

  • Now that I think about it, this video has an awful lot of cops-in-riot-gear imagery.

  • And the marquee at the start of the video said My Chemical Romance was opening for a band called “Pale Horse.”

  • And Zach Snyder‘s the director?! Wait a second …

So Watchmen audiences can expect a My Chemical Romance cover on the soundtrack. I don’t know if this disappoints me or entertains me; I offer it without comment.

Leave a Reply

