there’s something in my head, but it’s not me

Got home and promptly went to bed at 6:30 last night. Slept until the alarm went off this morning, whereupon I called in sick to work and slept another few hours. That seems to have put a real dent in this head cold, so I think I made the right call.

Plenty of odd dreams though. In the first, I visited my old offices at the Company. After chatting with my former supervisor, I left the building, only to see that there was now a food court abutting the office. “Good use of all that extra space we had,” I said to myself, until I realized I couldn’t find where I’d parked. I wandered through a hotel that had been constructed on the parking lot’s grounds, getting lost in an eight-bed suite.

In the second, I was playing some fighting video game (it looked like the latest in the Soul Calibur series, but wasn’t). I wanted to select one character whom I’d been doing really well in using, but couldn’t.

In the third, I was in Baltimore. I was driving down Padonia Road to get somewhere. I tried to pass this SUV that was driving abysmally slow in the right lane, only to see it change lanes right in front of me. Then I realized it wasn’t changing lanes – it was being pushed over by this massive gust of wind. I struggled to keep my car from sliding into oncoming traffic while still navigating the double reverse curve. When I regained control of the car, all the traffic in front of me had stopped. Something had happened at a school – no one knew what – and no one was moving.

The recurring theme, if any: being unable to get back the way I came. Not sure what it means.

# # #

In cheerier news, I’m buying myself an iPod Touch for my birthday. The question: which one, and when?

I have just shy of 16 GB of music on iTunes. A lot of it sees only occasional use, so I could do some rigorous culling. And it’s another $100 to get the 32 GB Touch. However, even if I trim down a full GB worth of music, I’ll still be expanding my catalog in the future.

Also, Apple’s announced the release of the 3.0 OS for the iPhone (and iPod Touch) this summer. I don’t know if it’s worth waiting for that upgrade, or if I should just buy now and pay the $10 to upgrade this June/July/whenever.

So I’ve made a poll! Validate my choices, Internet!

One Response

  1. I voted for you to buy the 32GB iPod Touch now for the following reasons:

    You may have only 16GB of music, but there’s no telling how many applications and how much video content you’ll discover you need in your pocket.

    It’s never worth waiting for the upgrade. What cheap memory and enhanced processor speed giveth, software taketh away, even if it is Apple.

    The extra $100 you spend for the 32GB model is likely to be a better store of value than our own currency in the near future.

Leave a Reply

